Playing tourist at Moma

For once I visited the Moma and 1) wanted to stay longer than an hour, I’m just kind of A.D.D like that, and 2) had the best cafeteria food ever.  Modern you sure know how to make mass produced food taste delicious.

One of the main exhibitions is Henri Cartier-Bresson, which just made me want to go out and take pictures of people.  I’m not really big on taking portraits, I guess I’m still learning how to use this new camera and I don’t feel like I’m fast enough with changing settings to get the kind of shots I want.  Practice..practice..practice…

And then there’s Marina Abramovic

Super intense lady.  The above photo is her sitting all day staring at whomever wants to join her in her installation.  Frequently reducing the participants to tears.  Read about it here

Watching her other performance art footage just made me uncomfortable. Watching two naked people stride from one end of the room to the other colliding as they passed by each other made me wince and then watching the artist (naked) repeatedly walk full stride into a pillar was too much. Once – by accident – is funny, over and over again makes me so uncomfortable.

I always love the sculpture garden and the photography sections:

I always want to just get in this and fly off

Leave a comment

Filed under Art

Leave a Reply

